up-date of plug-in

Posted in

Hi
In order not to screw thinks up, up-dating from Version 1.6.1 to Version 1.6.2, I’d like to know how to do that without loosing files or settings?

Can you please help?

Thanks/Poul

5 Responses to up-date of plug-in

  1. George January 19, 2018 at 12:03 pm #

    Hi Poul,

    Which plugin are you trying to update?

    In general if you do not enable the option to Delete Data upon plugin deactivation, you have nothing to worry about your plugin settings and data.

    If your plugin supports automatic updates, please have a look at your plugins list and make sure that you are using Itthinx Updates plugin as described in the documentation. Otherwise, you can deactivate, delete your current version and install the updated one.

    If you still feel uncertain, please give me some more info and i will provide detailed instructions here.

    Kind regards,
    George

  2. Poul January 19, 2018 at 12:10 pm #

    Thanks George

    Its the Groups File Access plug-in, and there is no automatic update for that plugin.

    If I delete the old version, nothing happens to the users/files, right?

    Thanks

    Poul

  3. George January 19, 2018 at 1:05 pm #

    You are welcome Poul.

    There are two options in Groups > File Access under Delete data section. These options should not be enabled to ensure that your data is kept intact.

    Once you have checked this, feel free to delete the old version and install the new one.

    Cheers,
    George

  4. Poul January 19, 2018 at 1:08 pm #

    Huuuu… scary!

    Thanks. Have a great week-end/Poul

  5. George January 22, 2018 at 8:53 am #

    You are welcome Poul!